Building the Yak 130

Ready2Fly’s EDF Jet

Richard van der Veldt
Aero Modelling

--

Last week, the postman brought my new EDF jet at the doorstep. It had a long journey, from China, via Switzerland to my home here in Holland.

Opening the transport box, to find… another box.

At first a glance if everything is intact. It seemed that way. The only thing that has come loose is the front seat pilot, which I need to find a way to fix.

Everything else seems to be in perfect condition.

The Yak’s ordnance

First off, the large ordnance is an eyecatcher in this box. Two sets of some kind of Russian missiles, two external fuel tanks and two unguided rocket pods can be mounted, with small strong magnets. All neatly put in order in styrofoam.

Also the mounting stations are in this part of the stack. These need to be glued to the wing. It needs some of the stations at least for a more stable flight profile. At first, I will use the tip and the outer stations, not to add too much weight and drag for this time.

A quick look with all the mayor parts put together

As you can see, it’s not a real “PnP”, because you do need to glue some parts together. The manual says this will take about 60 to 120 minutes to do. It does have the special adhesive in the box for the foam. Actually only the tailcone, the vertical fin and the wing stations need to be glued. All the ordnance is kept in place with magnets, like the canopy.

The wingspan is about 48", so for an electric ducted fan, it’s not a small one. Using a lithium polymer battery of 5Ah (6S), this one will definitely fly jet-like, instead of an asthmatic powered sailplane.

Currently, two accu packs are ordered, hopefully they will arrive tuesday and then I will have to decide on which transmitter I will use. (Buy my own Futaba T14SG, or use someone else's☺). And then we have to wait for nice stable weather, and some dry grounds, because the wheel bays are open, and the inside is not protected from taking in water.

And, eventually the accu-packs arrived, got my Futaba T14SG with the 7008 SBus2 2.4GHz FASSTest receiver connected and changed the stock connector from the Yak’s EDF regulator to the Turnigy HXT 4mm version and got all functions and servo throws set. Ready for it’s maiden flight.

Ready, on it’s own wheels, my Yak 130 in my back garden.

On february 6th, we put the airplane up in the air for the first time, beautiful sunny weather, although a brisk wind, around 15kts, but straight down the strip. Yes, I took of from the grass, with relative ease. It does take some power from the battery, so I wouldn’t recommend taxiing to and from the starting point, just carry the charged airplane to the point from where you want to take off, and safe some flight time. (I had only about 5 minutes, total…)

My GoPro YouTube Short Movie

Here you can see me, taking the Yak 130 for it’s maiden flight at the former Twenthe Airbase of the Royal Netherlands Airforce, the strip of our TRMC Modell Flying Club.

Since the last week, a lot more movies came up on YouTube from various people flying this model. All successful flights, I think. Till now I did not came across any crashes.

--

--

Richard van der Veldt
Aero Modelling

Aviateur Bon Vivant. Member of the Dutch Triatlon College, Cyclist, Cyclenut, Coffeelover, RV Traveller and Aeromodeller.