An open letter to the new Postmaster General on saving the mail with blockchain technology

Alan Goodman
AERYUS
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2020

Dear Louis DeJoy:

Please forgive my sending this to you via open letter, instead of through our historic and heroic postal system. I know you are on the verge of a new job and I want to make sure the message isn’t mistakenly lost on account of your change of address.

Congratulations on your nomination to the post of Postmaster General! Perhaps you have some ideas on how to make it work in a era where very few people are sticking little, colorful, scallop-edged rectangles in the corner of envelopes because, look, I can do this now. This. What I’m doing right now. Lord knows you are getting tons of advice on how to do your job from the man who nominated you.

Special Delivery of some unsolicited advice

Let me start by noting I too have some suggestions. Number One is that nobody knows the difference between certified mail and registered mail and nobody cares, so you should just get rid of one or the other of them because that way the difference doesn’t need to be explained every time someone steps up to the counter, wasting time and creating long lines. Plus you’d save money printing out pink or green cards because I always fill out the wrong color and have to start over. You’re welcome. Number Two is, your counter workers don’t need to take the trouble to circle the place on my receipt with the URL for me to respond to your survey. Who is taking these surveys, and if that’s what they are doing with their time, why would you care what they think? Also, it seems to me that charging Amazon four times as much to deliver their packages will just send them to competing, less costly services, and then where will you be? You’d lose all that revenue. And I thought the idea was to raise revenue. Hey, what do I know, you’re the money guy!

I’ll just say that if the rumor is true that the GOAL is to make the mail system fail so it eliminates the pandemic-induced imperative to vote by mail, thus creating a better environment for the President’s re-election, all I can say is WOW, that’s some brains working overtime on issues related to the pandemic. (If true, your employees should start taking down all those taped-up notices behind the counter now, because that’s months of work right there.)

The solutions are in your files from 2016. Somewhere.

But if you really want to make the system work better and more efficiently, and open up new business opportunities, maybe you should look at some proposals that were developed four years ago. That’s when the postal service did a deep dive into implementing blockchain technology in a wide range of ways.

As recently as a year ago, one analysis suggested blockchain could reduce costs for middle and back office costs by 30%. Thirty percent! Savings would come from integrating into one traceable system all the cross-border shipping, tracking, customs, payments, and other labor-intensive operations your team performs. You’d know where every truck is right now. You’d learn how to deploy workers more efficiently to resolve bottlenecks. There would be less loss, fewer opportunities for costly human error, and better customer service.

But you guys were way ahead of that analysis in 2016 when, in addition to modernizing supply chain and other solutions, your agency was envisioning many other advancements. Such as a digital funds solution to money orders and international money transfers. And secure identity management for your customers, which would pave the way for many services including unassailable voting by mail. (While no one needs a Postal Service system to implement blockchain identity services, it may be that the USPS provides that layer of trust that spurs adoption.)

The same goes for adoption of a secure digital currency. Yes, “postcoin” was another proposal back in 2016. It would be the backbone of a system in which I would create an account, funded by me though my digital devices, linked to my secure identity, from which I could manage needs from sending mail to sending funds to paying fees to receiving parcels to selecting our next elected leader. You could even do the mail on blockchain! Secure and encrypted through the U.S. Digital Postal Service. (You can use that name if you like. No, don’t mention it!)

We can show you how

I can’t tell you how excited I am to tell you these are not merely proposals. My company has built a system of secure account creation in blockchain we could demonstrate to you tomorrow. Or, whenever you spend your first day on the job.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

In the meantime, I’d like to say that when the President calls the postal system a joke, I hope he doesn’t mean your employees. Frankly, email doesn’t seem like a miracle to me. Email seems easy. You want to see miracles in real life, watch what happens when you stick a stamp on something, drop it in a blue box on the street, and wait just a few days for a hardworking, courageous, dedicated individual in a truck with the steering wheel on the wrong side to stop at a house and slip it through the slot. Right where it was intended to go. For 55 cents! Are you kidding me? That’s amazing. That’s miraculous. And I’m grateful to every one of them, especially in a time when they are putting themselves in danger to move the mail.

Yours sincerely,

Your Friends at Aeryus

Visit Aeryus at: https://aeryus.com
Follow us on all our social media channels to keep up to date on all
things Aeryus!

Join our community on Telegram: https://t.me/Aeryus1
Telegram news channel. https://t.me/aeryusone
Looking for token info? https://aeryus.com/token
Follow us on:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/aeryus_one
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AeryusOne
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/aeryus/
Aeryus is currently listed on IDEX: https://idex.market/eth/aer

--

--