3 Reasons you should probably be using Botox.

R J Edwards Aesthetic Clinic
Aesthetic Circle
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2019

I remember being 28 and looking in the mirror the first time I noticed little wrinkles on my forehead. I remember being 31 when I first noticed I had a crease between my eyebrows that wouldn’t go away even when I rubbed it. I started noticing them more as I got ready for work, ready for going out, ready for going to bed. When I turned 35, I looked in the mirror and they were just getting deeper.

Here are 3 reasons to try Botox now instead of later.

Prevention

You know those little lines that form near the corners of our eyes every time we smile? Those are called “dynamic lines” and Botox helps prevent them from forming in the first place.

When the muscles in our face contract, they fold skin. Enough folds in the same place and we get lines. Once skin is etched with lines it becomes harder to treat. Botox relaxes muscles around the eyes and in the forehead before they can create lines.

It stops people from thinking you look angry.

I think many of us have been asked if we’re upset when we were just minding our own business, staring off into space. Some of that comes from the appearance of lines between the eyebrows. Those lines are commonly associated with anger or frustration. According to Dr. Alex Korb, Ph.D. in Psychology Today:

“In the same way that your brain notices when someone’s “smile” muscles are flexed and thinks they’re happy, it notices when [brow muscles]are flexed and thinks, Oh, they’re upset or worried about something.”

I feel like I smile a lot more than I frown, but that hasn’t stopped the furrow in my brow from deepening. Botox stops that by relaxing the muscles between the eyebrows, preventing them from pulling together. In essence, it stops the furrow from getting any deeper. Which would’ve helped a lot more if I was still 28. Thankfully, Botox also reduces the visual appearance of lines and wrinkles.

It may be an antidepressant

The idea of using Botox to treat depression came from a 2006 Public Health study. 28 subjects were injected in their “glabellar” forehead muscles with either Botox or a placebo. The results of the double-blind study?

9 out of the 10 subjects who received Botox had lower symptoms of depression at the end of the study.

There are even doctors who suggest that part of how Botox treats depression comes from patients appearing less stressed.

The Takeaway

A Botox treatment is still a medical procedure and you should make up your own mind about whether or not to try it. Will it keep you looking young forever? Probably not, but regular treatments with a medical professional might make you look and feel happier.

Thank you for reading “3 Reasons you should probably be using Botox.” Check out our other articles for more.

--

--

R J Edwards Aesthetic Clinic
Aesthetic Circle

Ad: 17620 Pilkington Road - Lake Oswego - OR - 97035 Ph: (971) 808–7077