Why Everyone is Freaking Out About Lash Lifts & You Should Be Too.

R J Edwards Aesthetic Clinic
Aesthetic Circle
Published in
3 min readMay 25, 2019

My lashes and I spend a lot of time fighting. I fight to make them long, and curled. They fight to stay bunched up on my eyelids. Even when I get them curled, the second I put on mascara they slump like embarrassed teenagers. Not anymore.

I did my routine, I read a catchy blog articles, I bought things like little white bottles of growth serum that come with tiny disposable brushes, and falsies that make me feel a little better until I get tired of all the work. I comforted myself that when things got bad enough, there were always eyelash extensions, but every time I got close to buying them, I heard another horror story about how hard they were to maintain.

Oh, the dark ages before Lash Lifts.

Be warned, I’ve been using Lash Lifts for over three months. Most days, all I do is put on a little mascara. I basically don’t even use a curler. At this point, I don’t think I can ever go back.

A Lash Lift is a whole lot like getting a tiny perm on your lashes. My eighties babies will remember the glorious perm. Perfect curl? Check. Lots of volume? Check. David Hasselhoff poster? I had it pinned on my dorm room wall like a boss. In that same way, a Lash Lift uses a chemical solution to set the curl of your lashes for six to eight weeks.

Extensions are expensive, $200 — $300 per session and need follow-ups at least once a month, a Lash Lift is most times less than $100, and the amount of maintenance is super low. I was lucky enough to get mine done at R J Edwards Aesthetic Clinic in Lake Oswego, from the same people who publish this article, but I didn’t have to keep going back. I totally have though.

Seriously.

I can go a whole day without even thinking about my lashes. Seriously, I will sometimes forget to put on mascara and I don’t even care because my lashes still look amazing.

The Process of Getting a Lash Lift

At the first appointment my Esthetician asked me about my goals and my normal process, for example she asked me whether I wore mascara daily (obviously).

Each treatment so far has begun with my lashes being glued to a silicone shield that rests on the top of my eyelid. Then, she cleansed the lashes, separated the bottom ones from the top and combed the lashes up to start giving them shape!

After that she applied the perm solution which was left on for less than ten minutes, then a setting solution and a healing lotion. The whole process usually takes around an hour from beginning to end.

I was sufficiently warned the first time to remember that the first 24 hours after a lash lift are pretty important. I make sure not to wear any mascara during that time, and I keep them away from any water and steam until the first day is over. At a price of less then $50 a month it’s so worth it to me to wake up and see beautiful lashes everyday.

Thank you for reading “Why Everyone is Freaking Out About Lash Lifts & You Should Be Too.” Check out our other articles for more beauty related topics.

--

--

R J Edwards Aesthetic Clinic
Aesthetic Circle

Ad: 17620 Pilkington Road - Lake Oswego - OR - 97035 Ph: (971) 808–7077