Next Step to a Brighter Future

--

In my first post, I wrote about how researching more about Cleaner & Renewable energy would be a topic of interest to me as a college student. I say that because it could be an impact on not only me, but our future generations for our society. Obtaining this type of energy would be detrimental to the future in terms of environmental aspect.

There are many ways to see people’s opinions but in my opinion, the best way for me to see where people stand was to conduct a survey to the students that attend the University at Buffalo. I decided to conduct the survey with these group of individuals due to the fact that this will be their future as well and see their opinions on the topic.

My methodology of asking was posting a survey link into a few GroupMe’s that I have classes with some of the students, asking the question, “Do you think that Clean & Renewable energy will help the environment?”. I specifically chose that questions because I felt like asking “Do you think Clean & Renewable energy will help the future” is quite a broad question and may bring in a lot of questions, and my topic of interest is how this type of energy can help with our problem of climate change.

This is the data from the sample size of the students in GroupMe groups that I have. Although my sample size is small, and only has 40 people, I’m surprised that more people didn’t vote Yes. Personally, I would have voted Yes, but everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

I had asked a few of the people who took my survey due to wanting to know why they had chose that answer.

  • There could many other environmental factors that account into having types of renewable and clean energy such as Hydro Energy having floods.
  • Costs a lot of money
  • Some types of renewable energy can be hazardous / contain toxins.

All of these responses are reasonable and I believe that there are tons of factors to think about when talking about this subject. There are so many things that could go wrong, such as stated before “flooding” can be part of what occurs if hydro energy were used. I believe that if I had a large sample size, and perhaps point of views from older people, then the opinions would shift more towards yes as they’ve seen the climates change throughout their years. With that being said, this could lead to the conclusion from my survey that, clean & renewable energy would not help the environment.

--

--