I want them to know…

A poem by Wina Tamar Amancio Nguluve

I want them to know

That we were a community covered with happiness

That we paraded through life wrapped in elegance

That we carried the colours of the rainbow everywhere we went

With the Ankara, Kidengue, Capulana

That we gave every step a reason to be the best

And even had our culture stolen by the west

But no we had no reason to be distressed

Cause we knew that with our African print we were blessed

I want them to know…

I want them to know

That we moved with rhythm

That if a beat was played in the north

The south would dance with’em

That this was what kept us alive

What helped us survive

The endless steps to the beat of the drums

Shook us from our souls to our thumbs

I want them to know…

I want them to know

About the hard times

The ones that threatened our smiles

As our families were separated by miles

And we were forced to work on mines

About how harsh were the colonial times

I want them to know…

I want them to know

That we were the beginning of life

From the time when there was no strife

And that the evolution of what you see today

Is only cause our ancestors went astray

I want them to know…

I want them to know

That we were the first architects of this world

And our oldest buildings are still preserved like a rare pearl

And that inside our temple

Are kept mysteries that could make you tremble

I want them to know…

I want them to know

of our tropical islands

That drastically contrasted with our drylands

Of the picturesque views

That match perfectly to the sound of the blues

I want them to know…

I want them to know about our intellectuality

And our controversial mentality

Know the great values of humanity

And how with love we built a society

I want them to know…

I want them to know

About our connection with nature

How that was for us a treasure

About how we had the biggest the world knew

The most spectacular human view

How our landscapes painted in green

Brought inner peace for a human being

I want them to know…

I want them to know

About our capacity

That was shown with great audacity

That we were not afraid to compete with the big boys

And also knew how to manage the big toys

I want them to know…

I want them to know that

We were a continent as colourful as a pallet

we were the continent of the black skin

and the brown hair

of the green landscapes

and the brown deserts

Of the blue seas

And the orange sunsets

The continent where differences were embraced

Where diversity was celebrated

I want them to know

I want them to know that we were Africa

“Since I was small I have been a person of little or no words through speech, but the moment I discovered I had the ability to express myself through writing it became a very important part of my life. My Writing and Rhetoric classes have been a great help for my writing skills personally. They’ve helped me develop my critical thinking and be able to create pieces for reflection and impact.”

Wina Tamar Amancio Nguluve was born and raised in the capital of Mozambique, Maputo City. She started her journey at ALA in 2017.

--

--