Photo by Daniella Almona, ALA class of 2016

EXPLOSIONS

A Poem by Katai Lutanda Mutale

One empty morning, I decided to take an ebony brew of Nescafé

And suddenly, my mind became alive

I felt my brain paint canvases of visions I saw myself in.

I felt like Mozart, composing strange melodies that generations will

dance to.

I felt like Shakespeare, where my pen was mightier than a sword

Able to pierce hearts in one sentence.

It felt like I had a Creativity Rebirth

All of a sudden my dry bones of dead imagination

Had a new breath of life in them

Like a buried treasure chest deep in my soul was discovered in a split second

I grabbed my black pen and began to write down my thoughts

Into hopefully timeless poetry

I felt the constraints of fear

Holding back my unusual creativity shatter like rusty chains

The true me burst forth and turned my universe from grayscale to HD.

Like a snake shedding its skin

I felt proud to show my new scales of imagination

Who knew that I never sipped on a strong brew of Nescafé

I simply woke up one morning and decided to be me.

Writing is a method of communicating strong opinions and it in itself is an art form. It gives people a scope of your mind and evokes them to think, empathise and wonder.

Born and raised in Lusaka, Zambia, Katai joined ALA in September 2017. Email her at katai.mutale@gmail.com.

--

--