Let’s Talk About Podcasting In Africa (aka Why I Don’t Care About Kim Kardashian’s Spotify Deal)

Paula Rogo
Podcasting 4 Africans
3 min readJun 24, 2020

Let’s talk about podcasting.

In the last month, a mic drop in podcasting has taken place. If you follow the world of podcasting at all, then you know that Joe Rogan of the ‘The Joe Rogan Experience’ — literally THE BIGGEST PODCASTER in the world — has signed an exclusivity deal with Spotify.

Why is this major news? Rogan has been the world’s biggest podcaster for years. In spring 2019, Rogan said his podcast had over 190 million monthly downloads! Top episodes get millions of additional views on his YouTube channel, meaning he’s likely over 200 million monthly listens and views. This is mind boggling!

He is now shaking his money-maker exclusively for Spotify with The Wall Street Journal estimating the deal could amount to more than $100 million (plus he gets to keep his advertising revenue. So my guy is double dipping).

And then just last week, Spotify also announced that they had signed soon-to-be-lawyer Kim Kardashian West for an exclusive criminal podcast deal, according to multiple outlets. The streaming company also announced it will be exclusively producing and distributing original podcasts with DC Comics and Warner Brothers.

All this news from Spotify has been huge news in the podcasting space for understandable reasons. But it was a bleep to me.

Let’s talk podcasting…in Africa.

I deal in the world of African podcasting. I really believe that this medium could be the future of media on the continent.

I often use the power of radio as the source of this prediction. Radio is king in Africa. It is estimated that between 80% and 90% of households in Africa have access to a working radio set, according to a 2006 report by the African Media Development Initiative.* Furthermore, the same report states that local commercial radio grew in sub‐Saharan Africa by an average of 360 percent between 2000 and 2006. Community radio specifically grew by a striking 1,386 percent over the same period.

In rural Africa, radio is one of, and oftentimes, the prime medium. In my native Kenya for example, radio stations cater to various regions, ethnicities and languages (also called vernacular stations).

With the number of podcasts popping up daily, I am ready to see the rise of podcasting in Africa become a reality. I even co-created a company that would allow me to see that through.

But while the world seemed to be gushing about Rogan’s win with Spotify, I’m just fighting to get Spotify to open up to the whole continent. At the moment, the platform is only available in South Africa.

And yet, Spotify is doing much better than the many podcasting streaming companies, or pod giants in the world. Africa is being ignored and overlooked.

And so, I’m sorry Mr. Rogan. Your new deal is big news for you, but ultimately, not for me.

That’s what this new column I’ll be writing is about: covering the big and small news, and interesting and mundane news, in Africa podcasting. The powers that be don’t see it for Africa just yet, but there are so many fun, interesting startups and podcasters who are.

I want to use this space to write about the business and content trends in the growing podcast space. Just working with my colleagues at Africa Podfest has introduced me to so much, yet also shown me how little I know. I want to keep knowing and growing.

As for who I am? My name is Paula Rogo. I am a podcaster, a pod-producer and pod-preneur who is trying to build Africa’s first podcast festival and Africa’s first women-focused podcast network. I come from a space of abundance and I assume I know little. So every Thursday, I’ll be sharing interviews, thoughts and idea and I hope you’ll also share any tidbits you find.

If you have thoughts and tips you’d like to share with me, hit me up at info@kali.media

*And I wish I had more recent numbers. If you can direct me to some, I’d greatly appreciate it.

--

--

Paula Rogo
Podcasting 4 Africans

Founder, Africa Podfest (Africa’s first podcast festival) and Kali Pods (African women-focused podcast network)