Are You A Lovable Person? Finding Happiness Series

Nai Sandura
African Thoughts
Published in
4 min readJun 24, 2016

I have heard a lot of people saying, ‘if somebody loves you they just love you no matter what.’ Is this true? I don’t think so, okay maybe with your mother and yourself. The concept of unconditional love may just be a myth we tell ourselves when we feel affection for something, I can tell you ‘I love you unconditionally’ but the truth is that all depends. I am saying this looking at a person I am looking at today, but as a human I have limits, no matter what I would like to tell myself there are somethings I just can’t take!

Most people the only thing they can talk about is their haters, hater this, hater that. Trust me haters will always be there true, but haters can’t be all you have! You need love, every human needs love. Having people you know love you, you will always know there is someone who has your back in times of need, someone you can count on and a comforter. I would be lying to you if I say let everyone hate you and you will still be happy, its true you have the key to your happiness, but people around you still play a part, I mean just being a human you can’t depend on yourself all the times.

There is only one happiness in this life, to love and be loved. — George Sand

That brings me to my question for today, are you a lovable person, do you deserve other people’s love? The way you treat yourself is the first thing that tells someone if you deserve their love. If you haven’t given yourself love why would you expect other people to love you. People will always love and respect you if you do yourself the same favor. You can’t get people to believe in yourself if you don’t believe in yourself. Treat yourself the way you want others to treat you.

Don’t be a miserable living person, be alive every time, don’t take yourself for granted. Every thing we do to ourselves is a message to the world on how it should treat us. You will be used and taken for granted if you don’t start making changes and loving yourself better. Like I always say, put yourself first and other people will learn to put you in their lives. Sometimes you don’t even need to demand respect, respect will come if you respect yourself. Be the first to tell yourself ‘I love’, to tell yourself I am awesome, to tell yourself I believe in you, to tell yourself whatever you want other people to tell you!

Other people may not love you unconditionally, but one person that should never lose love for you is yourself. Never! Love yourself unconditionally because no matter what happens you will always have yourself for the rest of your life.

The second thing that tells if you deserve other people’s love is what you do to them. It is always important ladies and gents, to treat other people like you would like to be treated. Just like you don’t ever want to be taken for granted, don’t take others for it too. Value others in life, no matter what stage of live you are, no matter how well your life is, this is important! We all don’t know what tomorrow has in store for us. One day you will need their love and support, you are not enough with yourself!

Love is something we all deserve, but you have to be worth it. You can’t expect other people to give you what you don’t give them. You have to be a lovable person! To be lovable, you are going to love yourself the way you want others to love you and love others the way you want them to love you. Its simple like that.

From today my friend know that even before everybody else loves you, you love yourself and make sure you do, there is no sin in that. Then as you do love yourself learn to love others! Its not about being beautiful or handsome outside, sometimes when we see no love around we end up thinking maybe we are not good looking, maybe just maybe I am not that. Well let me tell you, you are good enough as you are, but without loving yourself and loving others, love may seem short! If you want us to treat you like a beautiful person, treat yourself like that and treat others the same.

Beauty/Handsome isn’t worth anything if it doesn’t come from within, I rest my case!

Love Yourself, Love Others and Stay Happy…You deserve to be loved! 😘

Photo: planwallpaper.com

--

--