Can happiness be taught?

My answer is ‘yes’ and ‘no’

Nai Sandura
African Thoughts
2 min readAug 8, 2016

--

This has been the biggest question on my mind since I started my blog a few months ago. I started with the happiness series, where I was trying to teach a few tricks to keep your mood up.

Can happiness be taught?

It is possible to teach someone to be happy! I believe the few pieces that I wrote back in June has helped a few.

Happiness can be taught only if I can show you how to be happy. Like I said in my article This Is August, happiness can be achieved with a happy character.

So unless the teachings are going to change one’s character to a happy one, they maybe in vain.

Here comes the no part. Happiness can not be taught, not unless the other part involved is really desperate to be happy. You have to really want it to receive it.

Because its going to involve changing some of your habits (the biggest reason why most people are sad) you have to be willing to let go some of the things you are kinda addicted to.

So to me really, happiness is a choice one has to make for themselves, I know I can fill my blog with do this do that [to be happy], but we all know the truth… you have the key to your happiness.

A lecture or seminar is never going to be enough until you want to make the change, unless its your will to be happy.

Sometimes if you really want to be happy don’t go looking for a blog or a book or a sermon, look inside you, what is it thats really bothering you? Make the change necessary, do what feels right to you!

Happiness is a gift that only comes when you have understood yourself enough to know what you need! Be honest and in harmony with yourself, thats how you conquer sadness!

P.S: I have written some staff on happiness browse through my blog, I hope there is something for you! Thanx for reading, if you have time like and comment.

--

--