Know Yourself Better: Finding Happiness Series

Nai Sandura
African Thoughts
Published in
4 min readJun 17, 2016

As a person my biggest challenge is that no one should be able to define me more than I can. It is the key to everything, I stay with the me 24/7 and for all my life it has been like that, now when someone can understand me better than myself, umm. I am not denying that there are such situations, but this is what should challenge you.

Have you ever met some people that can explain whats wrong with you all the time, and they are always right? To tell the truth personally I like to keep around me people that understand me better, but I will not always wait for someone to tell me whats wrong. It is my responsibility to understand my self, my happiness depends on it. If you don’t understand yourself you will have a hard time living a happy life.

It will be hard for you to do things that you love because you don’t know yourself. When you don’t understand yourself better most of the times you will leave other people to define who you are. Have you ever had those moments when someone just tells you, I think you are lazy and then suddenly you just become lazy. Its because you believed what they said because you don’t know yourself. You stand ground against negative forces if you know yourself better. You avoid situations that make you weak if you know yourself better.

You need to start noticing your behavior, what kind of a person are you. What kind of things are you into. How do you do your things. Do you really like this food? These are questions that you should be asking yourself all the time, you will find that you will be surprised every time by some of the things you like. One important thing you need to do always when you are learning your self is be honest with yourself, If you can’t be honest with yourself, then who will you be with?

Only as you do know yourself can your brain serve you as a sharp and efficient tool. Know your own failings, passions, and prejudices so you can separate them from what you see.

- Bernard Baruch

Understanding yourself is a key to happiness in that you will always know things you don’t like to do and just avoid them or you learn to like them. There are things in our lives we are going to do whether we like it or not, then we end up being sad. When you start learning about yourself and identifying what you don’t like and what you do, this will help you figure out how to compromise on what you don’t like but have to do. For example, I will be honest with you, I hated going to school, but getting good grades always polished my pride…LOL..I know! So the real reason I had to wake up, put on a blazer I hated and heard over to school was because I wanted good grades. The moment I started failing and my pride started fading, I would hate it again. I knew this was bad for me, so I had to study harder and retain my pride. PS: There were other ups of going to school like great friends and a nice comp lab!

Perhaps mine was a great combination of like and hate, but what ever combination is on your table, learn to compromise for the greater good. Your happiness is limited if you always complain about things. The reason you have to know yourself better is to understand your weakness and support them with your strengths! You won’t be pushed around if you know yourself better. Sometimes you are just forced to go out with your friends when what you really need is a nice rest, popcorn and Netflix! Don’t always force your body, as much as we demand from our body and our mind we also need to listen to it. You are lazy when you never do any work, but you are not lazy when you want rest after a long day.

Update: When you know yourself you trust your gut more! (Thought you should know)

Happiness is vital to our lives and happiness depends on us, understanding ourselves and loving ourselves. From today start taking note of what you really like, who are you really? Then start making changes to suit your life. Make changes to be better and make changes that will leave you happy now and in the future. I rest my case!

Know Yourself and Be Happy :-)

Photo: slideshare.net

--

--