Learn To Let Go: Finding Happiness Series

Nai Sandura
African Thoughts
Published in
5 min readJun 14, 2016

It is part of life to sometimes have bad experience, but it is up to us to let go! Who hasn’t had a bad experience, who hasn’t felt like they lived a tough life? Its okay to grieve when hard times hit you, in fact I am going to tell you this, when you lose something valuable to you, cry if you feel like it and never hold back. Why? Because feelings and pain are two stubborn things, they always demand to be felt. If you hold back you will live with them for the rest of your life.

Some time ago I lost my father and I felt so horrible, I felt like the whole world was just crushing on me. I cried until I hard no more tears and then I cried some more. I am glad I did this, because I started accepting the reality, I cannot say I felt relieved, but I know it could have been worse if I had kept all those emotions inside of me. It could have ruined my joy and probably my life. But now I live happy everyday, I celebrate the time I had with him, even though sometimes I wish he was here, I don’t let it determine how happy I am. I have learned to let go.

There are things in your life you wish had played out differently, but they didn’t. Thats life and the sooner you accept it, the sooner you are free. Whats left is to move on, you can not change what happened, but you can change what happens. You can choose to be happy, you can choose to let go. Don’t ever think, because that happened to you, you deserve to be sad, like I said feel all the emotions and let go! Its better to break a few plates than to destroy your whole life. Holding on to pain will lead to anger, resentment and frustration, all of which destroy your happiness.

Accept life as it is because it is never going to be perfect, not for anyone! But no matter what life gives you, happiness will always be your choice. Let go of anger, let go of sad memories, let go of things and beings destroying you happiness. Yes, sometimes you need to let go of things that you have, things that you know have always deprived you of your happiness. At times there are people we just keep in our lives, but we know we could be doing better without them, we know we could be happy without them, its time you let go.

You think you are doing yourself a favor by keeping them, maybe because you think one day they will be better than you and so you have to keep everyone in you life. Allow me to say, thats total BS! Never keep the wrong company for the sake of a future we don’t know, if they are wrong for you now, they wont be good for you later, trust me. You need to let them go. Sometimes you need to put yourself first, you are not losing them, they are losing you. You can do better, there is a friend looking for a friend like you, a bf/gf looking for a gf/bf like you. Dead relationships don’t need to be resurrected, they need to be terminated. I tell you, you are special than you know.

Take time, to reflect in your life, let your inner eye (imagination) move in your life and identify every obstacle of your happiness, might be emotions, people, things and let go. Some people you will have to tell them, ‘Straighten up or you will lose me!’ It may sound like arrogance, yeah it might be, but this is good arrogance. There is a good selfish that you need to learn today otherwise you will always stay sad, people taking you for granted.

There was a time when I was in high school, I always put other people’s business before mine, a friend wants some food, come and take, they need a bed come lets share (it was a boarding school), I was easy as long as I had it. Others started seeing this as weakness, maybe not knowingly. I started realising that it became easy for everyone to say can I have and at the same time say no to me. They knew I would always give them even though they wont. This was not good for me at the time, I had to start being selfish or I was going to stay out of food. You can’t cater for everyone in your life, let it be you first and then give all that’s left to the world.

Remember in the previous topic, I told you to ‘spread this love’, today I am telling you to let go. How does that work? I am saying let go emotions and behaviors that leave you sad, I am saying let go things and people that deprive you of your happiness. Letting is not hating, when you tell your friend bye-bye you are simply moving your life to a new place, letting go sooner will give you a chance to leave people while you still love them, rather than when they have pushed and you now hate them. Let go with love not hatred, distance yourself from it. I know people can be difficult in life which is why I am trying my best to make you understand this part. I can not say each and every circumstance we all go through, but I can tell you, you can end it in a beautiful way with not much pain.

Sometimes you are going to endure pain for the time being, but your life will be better! Believe in yourself, believe you are special. Sometimes you wont need to do anything, just keep telling your self how special you are and what you deserve, the universe is here to help us get what we desire.

Anything that is killing your joy has to leave your life before it destroys you, don’t be afraid to feel the pain because if you bundle it up inside, it will always try to pop up at times we don’t expect. Your happiness is more important than any relationship. Let go the feeling of guilty, its not being righteous feeling guilty every time, its toxic!

Let Go and Be Happy :-)

Photo: qoutesmeme.com

--

--