Black History 365 + Hidden History

Brother Had A Dream, Too

Remembering A.D. King’s Message to the Movement

Quintessa L. Williams
AfroSapiophile
Published in
7 min readJul 30, 2021

--

A.D. King at a Birmingham, Alabama press conference in 1963 | Photo Courtesy of ABC3340 News

Comedic legend, Eddie Murphy once said of his late brother, Charlie Murphy: “He is my best impression.” Charlie Murphy, who was influential in his own right, died at the age of 57 from leukemia. Charlie Murphy once said of Eddie:

“I’ve never felt like I was living in anyone’s shadow. My life was what it was. I was always proud of my brother. He helped me tremendously, but we’re family so we were never in his shadow.”

While Eddie Murphy is more widely known among the two brothers, Eddie always acknowledged Charlie’s influence on his life. When I think of the high regard Eddie held for his brother, I find solace in knowing that our hidden history of influence, dreams, and achievements should never go unnoticed.

Similar to that of civil rights activist, A.D. King.

This brother had a dream, too.

Alfred Daniel Williams King (preferably known as A.D.) was born July 30th, 1930 in Atlanta, Georgia. King is the youngest child of three children and the younger brother of the revolutionary minister and activist, Martin Luther King Jr. A.D. King was also a Baptist minister and later activist, who was influentially involved in…

--

--

Quintessa L. Williams
AfroSapiophile

Afra-American Journalist 📝📚| #WEOC | Blacktivist | EIC of TDQ | Editor for Cultured & AfroSapiophile. Bylines in The Root, MadameNoire, ZORA, & Momentum.