[black] Sex Sells: The Cost of Black Sexual Liberation

Alena in Equinox
AfroSapiophile
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2024

“We have been raised to fear the yes within ourselves… our deepest cravings”

- Audrey Lorde, Uses of the Erotic: The Erotic as Power

Photo by Rosa Rafael on Unsplash

My time in college could be neatly summed up into the famous first words of Charles Dicken’s A Tale of Two Cities: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times”

Starting out at Harvard University as a first generation student was a battle I greatly underestimated, and within weeks I realized that some of the greatest challenges I’d face at this prestigious institution would have nothing to do with tests of my academic prowess but everything to do with tests of the solidity of my character and identity.

Growing up, I only ever knew school and worship (Or as us Haitians say, Leglise, Lekol, Lakay). This tight binary left very little to my imagination with regard to Alena as an independent being, or even Alena as a sexual being. I’ll unpack all of that later, but let’s just say it was… yikes!

Powerpoint with text “How have Black Sexual Tropes evolved past colonialism? How have we reclaimed and destigmatized Black sex and sensuality?” Pictures on the slide include cartoons of Foxy Brown, Sara Baartman, Mandingo, and some shots from the Savage Fenty Vol 3 fashion show.
Slide snapshot from my presentation of my film

During my senior year of college, I reflected on the idea of sexual liberation and my strained relationship with it throughout those 4 years. As part of my minor in African American studies, I created a couple of short films. My most audacious one, titled “Black Sex Sells”, was an attempt to decipher the line between sexual liberation and self-exploitation; a difficult line 19-year-old Alena tight-roped on as she fought to create her definition of sexual empowerment amidst fetishization, reflections on true consent, and the suppressive foundations she grew up with from the Black church.

I’ve never shared the video outside of the class I made it for, but I think it’s time to have these discussions out loud and fearlessly. I hope you all enjoy:

“Black Sex Sells”. 2021, Alena B.

--

--

Alena in Equinox
AfroSapiophile

Harvard Alumna │ Reflections in Self, the Black Body, Community, and Love in all forms