WOMANISM

Black Women Have a Really Good Reason for Quiet Quitting

Unpacking the unrealistic, misogynoiristic expectations

Allison Wiltz M.S.
AfroSapiophile
Published in
4 min readSep 5, 2022

--

Black woman doing yoga pose | Photo by KoolShooters via Pexels

In America, Black women are paid 42% less than White men and 21% less than White women. Even when Black women have the same higher degrees as their White counterparts, they tend to earn less because of misogynoir. Unfortunately, many think pieces discouraging people from "quiet-quitting" seem to be missing the Black woman's side of the story. Unless American organizations are willing to fix the race-gender wage gap right now, they have no right to tell Black women to stop "quiet-quitting."

Years ago, when I discovered that a White colleague of mine made more than I did, it was a mistake, something they never expected me to hear. I worked the most hours, maintained the day-to-day front-of-house operations, met with wine and liquor distributors, and interviewed, trained, hired, and fired staff when needed. Yet, a woman who worked half as many hours and did not have the same responsibilities was making more. So, of course, I called out my boss that same day. He gave me a raise, but the fact that I had to ask to be treated equally was just a slice of the misogynoir many Black women face in the workplace.

--

--

Allison Wiltz M.S.
AfroSapiophile

Black womanist scholar and doctoral candidate from New Orleans, LA with bylines @ Momentum, Oprah Daily, ZORA, Cultured #WEOC Founder. allisonthedailywriter.com