Can Black Republicans Hope to Fare Any Better Than the Log Cabin Republicans?

Listening in on them talk to each other

William Spivey
AfroSapiophile
Published in
5 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

https://www.flickr.com/photos/64018555@N03/49424667458/

I’m always looking to engage with my polar opposites in a sincere attempt to exchange views. I suspect if we honestly spoke to each other and not at each other, we both might learn something. I stumbled across a Live X broadcast, Black Americans in the GOP, and thought I’d tune in.

The host was a white woman, code-named Phenomenology, with a few Black co-hosts. There was an option to listen anonymously that I didn’t choose. I did indicate I wanted to speak by digitally raising my hand, but a few people dominated the conversation, and I, like many others, never got my chance.

It could be disorganization that kept more people from getting involved in the conversation. Someone would try making their point and keep getting cut off by the moderator or co-hosts who felt the need to respond to everything. At one point, over 1,800 people signed on. Of the speakers, almost all were Black men, except for a Black female radio host from Chicago and the moderator, Phenomenology, who made clear it was her show and people needed to follow her rules.

“You can do your own space, but you’re in mine right now, and this is how I moderate ’em. If…

--

--