Does Listening to Country Music Radicalize People?

The title is an honest question, but I can’t think of too many anti-racism country songs

Walter Rhein
AfroSapiophile
Published in
8 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

Is there a country song with the lyrics, “Don’t engage in insurrection, or betray the Constitution, because freedom dies if any one man should rise above the law?”

Hmm, doesn’t really seem to be the type of thing the country audience wants to hear does it?

What’s the most famous anti-racism country song? I can’t recall hearing one. Is that because they’re not played on the radio, or is it because they never get recorded in the first place?

As I sit here writing this, there’s a huge country music festival going on a few miles up the road. If I went out to that festival, how many Confederate flag stickers do you think I’d find on vehicles in the parking lot?

I’m not going to do that because I grew up in a small town. I know people from small towns don’t like it when you go peeking around at their cars. I’m not like Jason Aldean who grew up in Macon, Georgia. I grew up in a town with a population of just over 2,000 people. I think it’s fair to say I have real-life experience about what living in a small town is like.

--

--

Walter Rhein
AfroSapiophile

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com