In Defense of J. Cole

First things first…

Ivylockewrites
AfroSapiophile

--

J. Cole Performing in Concert | Photo: Unsplash

Although I am admittedly biased as a long-term J. Cole fan, I stepped forward to defend him because of how his message touched me personally.

If you were at the Dreamville Fest or tuned in online, you saw first-hand what J. Cole had to say about his beef with Kendrick Lamar and what led him to create the soon-to-be-deleted diss track in his latest project, Might Delete Later.

I have been very candid about my struggles to overcome my shortcomings and traumas and fulfill my true potential.

Not for nothing, but this seems to be the struggle of many creatives and those with natural talents. On the one hand, many of us enjoy being creative just for the sake of it; we like to explore it in various ways and often push the envelope to invoke new feelings and experiences.

On the other hand, with great power comes great responsibility. When you create messages that an audience will receive and possibly internalize, you have to think thrice about your message and how you relay it.

Hip-Hop Hate

As someone raised on many genres, including hip-hop, I have to say that hip-hop is innately negative. Sure, the same could be said for rock & roll or even many country songs.

--

--

Ivylockewrites
AfroSapiophile

They call me “the voice of the people,” but I can only speak for myself. Find "Everything Ivy" here >> https://linktr.ee/IvyLockeWrites