Let It Go, Mo’

After the Awareness, Acknowledgement, Accountability, and Apology Comes Action

ASUS BUTTERFLY
AfroSapiophile

--

Dropping the Mic is a Sign of Doing a Great Job and Moving on to What is Next | Photo from thelaurelct.com

My Long-Standing Support of Mo’Nique as a Champion for Change

By now, we all have some level of awareness of Mo’Nique’s issues with Netflix, Tyler Perry, Oprah Winfrey, and Lee Daniels. We are all aware that Mo’Nique is an outspoken woman who confidently speaks her mind with her supportive husband by her side. I applaud all of that. Hell, I wish I had a man like that by my side during my battles.

I have supported Mo’Nique throughout her Netflix and Oprah Winfrey-Tyler Perry-Lee Daniels ordeals. I am a Black woman who has been mistreated in her career by others and expected to accept less; so, I have a soft spot for Mo’Nique as she has encountered her battles. I give grace for how people choose to fight their battles, and as an outspoken, confident woman, I saw myself in Mo’Nique. Truthfully, I think a lot of us see ourselves in Mo’Nique as she fights her battles — either who we are or who we desire to be but are too afraid to be because we’ve been morphed into an oppressive state to satisfy the white-dominated world.

I have supported Mo’Nique in my articles, as annotated below:

--

--

ASUS BUTTERFLY
AfroSapiophile

Author of Stories concerning Black America & Hot Topics w/ a Positive Flare & Teachable Moment | Google Top Author | Co-Editor Afro-Cinemaphile & AfroSapiophile