One of the founding members of Freedom Fighters D.C. enjoys his meal at the Mutual Aid Table. | 17 Feb 2021 | Photo Credit: Johnny Silvercloud

Activists Consistently Give Back to their Communities

No mainstream media will cover this, but that’s okay, we got this.

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile
Published in
5 min readApr 30, 2021

--

I want to write more but I do photography too

I wish I could write like a lot of my peers. You know, all the time. The thing about me is that I’m a different type of writer on Medium. I’m actually a photographer who just so happens to write. It might be a shock to those who only know me as a writer, but it’s a fact. I guess the writing side is decent due to the fact that it’s just be thinking; I write like how I talk.

Redd, an anti-racism/police accountability activist gives food and assistance to members of the Community, South East Washington D.C. | 17 Feb 2021 | Photo Credit: Johnny Silvercloud

I often wish I could just get away with releasing a bunch of photos as an article and that’s it. I see so much out here. One of the things I consistently watch is this concept called “Mutual Aid” in Washington D.C. Mutual Aid is the general name of the effort of giving back to the community, providing for the community. Mutual Aid can be giving food to the hungry, or giving clothing to those who are in need. This is done weekly in Washington D.C. While there’s more than one group who does this, those whom I have been following for an extended period of time (similar to embedded media…

--

--

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

20 yr U.S. Army vet turned analytical street photographer who talks about power, protest, and politics. Do not defend racism or sexism when I’m in the room.