Take Note: A Black Woman Got a Black Female Therapist Fired For Disparaging Black Men

Rosalyn Morris
AfroSapiophile
Published in
7 min readAug 24, 2022

--

Photo by Gideon Hezekiah on Unsplash

If you haven’t heard — a Black female therapist was recently fired for proclaiming on social media that Black men need therapy. Well, she wasn’t fired for claiming Black men need therapy. As a people, we could all use a little therapy in the racist world we live in. According to who you ask, she was either fired for her delivery, where she used expletives, or if you ask someone like me, she lost her job because she seemed to show a level of contempt for Black men. It made me uncomfortable. You would have to judge for yourself.

Note that she didn’t make me uncomfortable because I felt she hurt Black men’s feelings. She made me uncomfortable because I have visited Black doctors, male and female, who showed disdain, even contempt, for me as a Black person/Black woman. So, yes, I was triggered.

For instance, the first time I went to the gynecologist, the doctor was a Black woman. She attempted to roughly SHOVE the largest speculum she could find into me, before choosing a smaller size, causing me unnecessary pain in an already uncomfortable situation. She switched to a smaller size, but at this point, she’d already asked me if I wanted a rapid AIDS test without getting any history from me.

--

--