When Will We Finally Say “Enough is F***ing Enough”?

A different day, the same old story: another mass shooting in America

Guy Nave
AfroSapiophile

--

Payton S. Gendron | Erie County District Attorney

Allow me to begin by apologizing for simply responding without doing my typical critical reflection. I’m just so tired of this shit and I need to vent!

This won’t be a long read, because it won’t take me long to vent! The recent mass shooting in Buffalo, NY reveals so many issues that we as a nation keep kicking down the road like someone kicking a can down the street. Here are a few of those issues:

  1. Racial hatred: A white, 18-year-old gunman allegedly carried out a racist attack at a supermarket in Buffalo, N.Y., on Saturday, May 14, killing 10 people and injuring three others. Eleven of the 13 victims were black. The suspected gunman, Payton S. Gendron, published a 180-page document filled with the language of racialized hatred and promoting the racist “great replacement theory” (GRT).
  2. White self deputized vigilantism: Like the celebrated white vigilante, Kyle Rittenhouse, who traveled to a community other than where he lived to protect white people from a perceived threat of black people, the alleged gunman drove more than 200 miles from his small hometown of Conklin, N.Y., and arrived in east Buffalo the day before the attack to conduct “reconnaissance” on the…

--

--

Guy Nave
AfroSapiophile

I LOVE thoughtful and challenging engagement! That's why I read and write on Medium. If you enjoy the same, keep in touch. I always respond.