Would You Like to Join Me in my Anti-Racism Activism?

My latest tactic for trying to start a positive conversation with conservatives

Walter Rhein
AfroSapiophile
Published in
6 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Image by Walter Rhein

It happened again.

A former friend who refused to offer so much as a breath of criticism in response to Trump’s repeated calls for hostility and violence against various marginalized groups, has come out of the woodwork to try and rekindle our relationship.

I’ve seen this over and over. The ones that were rabid in their support of racism and xenophobia got blocked. But for other conservatives I used to know, I waited. Some of them could be called passively racist, or merely indifferent. I knew that all had to do was be patient and they’d reveal themselves.

These are the people who feel no obligation to evaluate their ideology. They’re content to coast along, reaping the benefits of institutionalized racism even as they insist it doesn’t exist. They avoid political posts, but they’ll talk about “common sense” or “family values” and they’ll share memes featuring Tim Allen or Mike Rowe.

I catch them liking my posts. It’s like they’re waving at me from the other side of the library. “Hello! I’m still here. Why haven’t I seen you in so long?”

--

--

Walter Rhein
AfroSapiophile

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com