I’m an African Immigrant and I’m excited to Vote for Biden/Harris 2020.

Allison T. Musvosvi (she/her)
afrosustainabiity
Published in
3 min readOct 25, 2020

I’m an African Immigrant. I voted Kamala into the Senate in 2016 and I’m excited to Vote for Biden/Harris 2020.

My family moved to California in 2004 and I became a naturalized American Citizen in 2014. The first time I voted was in a midterm election, and I voted for a Republican (Representative for Placer County). Now, don’t get it twisted, I am a die-hard democrat. But this was before the “Contest Every Race” campaign and my choices were between a moderate Republican or a tea-party republican. I voted for the one who was more closely aligned with my principles. Not a perfect choice, but I had to do it. I couldn’t bring myself to opt-out. I went with the candidate who I felt could be most persuaded and held accountable to the constituents they would represent.

I don’t pretend to agree enthusiastically with all the positions that these candidates have made, but I also appreciate that democracy is at stake in this election. DJT #45 has demonstrated time and time again that he believes he is above the law and is determined to use his position to profit himself and his family. The ways that he has undermined our democracy, disrespected human life and human rights, and blatantly endorsed racism and bigotry are terrifying. More than that, it reminds me of the types of tyranny that the American media has repeatedly reported on with patronizing superiority when discussing African politics.

In 2016, I proudly cast my vote for Hillary Rodham Clinton and democrats down the ballot including Kamala D Harris for U.S Senate. As it stands, all the democratic candidates at the top of our ballot have been criticized for not going far enough to bring justice. There are a lot of reasons for people from marginalized communities not to like Joe and Kamala, but we must vote for them. At this point in history, and understanding our role in democracy, I strongly believe that “not voting is not a valid form of protest.” Voting will shape our future, it shapes foreign policy, and determines whether we have the people in place to pass the legislation we need. Voting in this election will not magically solve most of the problems we see in this country, and across the world, but it is one tool in the box of revolution.

In 2020, we’re faced with a crucial election. As a Zimbabwean, I know what it’s like when a country is ruled by a ruthless dictator. This informs my vote. I wish it was hyperbole for me to say that a Trump victory will bring the end of democracy as we know it, but it’s not.

I vote for people who I believe will listen, grow, and change for the better. I see this in Biden and Harris.

--

--

Allison T. Musvosvi (she/her)
afrosustainabiity

I’m Zimbabwean and American and my Shona values remind me that both people and planet matter. #decolonizesustainability