After Deconstruction

Brian Rikimaru
After Deconstruction
2 min readAug 11, 2021

What do you do after deconstruction?

If you have been in Christianity for some time, the term “deconstruction” may have come up. Perhaps it was a deeply negative idea when you heard it, maybe it was hopeful. For many it is the traumatic experience of wrestling with faith without anything or anyone to support them.

Deconstruction for me happened at a Christian college (a surprisingly common venue for this), studying the bible and theology. I had many supportive friends and professors, and so even though I may have struggled immensely with virtually everything in Christianity I once took for grounded, I remained and still remain centered on Christ.

But mine does not seem to be a common story. As I look out on social media, there seems to be space for deconstruction, which is great and necessary for those who need it. There is also a plethora of pages and groups that espouse some sort of general Christianity that seems to be entirely unaware of the kinds of things deconstruction brings up.

The question can be formulated a thousand ways: Where can I find community? Are there other worship songs to listen to? Is there anyone else who has thought about this?

The way I’ve come to think of it is, what do you do after deconstruction?

My hope with this publication is to develop a “Reconstructionist Theology.” That is to approach Christianity thoughtfully and deliberately, being attentive to the missteps that have forced some into painful deconstructions, but also seeking after the true beauty that draws me back time and time again to Christ.

--

--

Brian Rikimaru
After Deconstruction

Current M.Div. Student at PTSem, striving to bring Christian Scholarship to the Church