Hagiography

A play about the political implications surrounding a bench.

After The Storm Voices
After The Storm
9 min readJul 21, 2024

--

Image; Michal Klajban

By Stephen Walkiewicz

Evening at a park. A park bench is at center stage. Zack walks from stage left. He has a book with him. He sits on the bench. He is content and begins to read. A few moments later Dahlia enters stage right. She has a backpack and sits at the bench.

Dahlia: How’s it going?

Zack: Oh, good. How are you?

Dahlia: I’m doing well. Thank you. (beat) Are you going to be here for long?

Zack: Maybe? I just got here.

Dahlia: Oh.

Zack: Is that a problem?

Dahlia: No? No. It shouldn’t be.

Zack: It’s a public park. I can sit here if I’d like.

Dahlia: Yes, you’re correct.

Zack: Okay then.

Zack goes back to reading his book. Dahlia opens her bag. She gets a screwdriver. She starts to walk behind the bench

Zack: What are you doing?

Dahlia: Just getting a name off of the bench.

Zack: You can’t do that.

Dahlia: Why?

Zack: This is public property! You can’t just destroy it!

Dahlia: Oh, I’m not destroying it. I’m just taking the name off of it.

Zack: What name?

Dahlia: The name on the bench. It needs to go.

Zack: Why?

Dahlia: The guy that it’s named after is horrible. I don’t want anyone to celebrate him.

Zack: Who’s celebrating? Do you see fireworks? I’m trying to sit here and read a book, you need to stop!

Dahlia: Well this will only be a few moments. I almost got the plaque off.

Zack: Hey! This is my bench! You can’t just come in here and damage these things. Dahlia: You’re bench? You’re Mayor Dyne?

Zack: I’m Zack! And who are you?

Dahlia: Hmm, (beat) let’s go with Dahlia.

Dahlia continues to work on the bench

Zack: I said you need to stop!

Dahlia: And I said Mayor Dyne was a ghoul.

Zack: What makes you say that?

Dahlia: He hurt a lot of people. His policies and actions caused suffering not just for the people of this city, but for their descendants. People are still suffering because of him.

Zack: I still don’t get what this has to do with my bench.

Dahlia: Why are you so protective?

Zack: I’m not protective, I like to come out here on Friday nights after work to sit in the park and read. I come right to this bench because it’s closest to my home. I get to talk to people, enjoy the weather and view. This bench means a lot to me so I am asking you kindly to stop destroying it!

Dahlia: And how is removing a name destroying it?

Zack: You’ll damage it! The city will repair it, you’ll damage it again. This will be a vicious cycle that will only escalate to the bench being destroyed so I’m imploring you to leave it alone.

Dahlia: I can’t do that.

Zack: But that bench isn’t Mayor Dyne. You’re displacing your anger.

Dahlia: What?

Zack: I get it. Mayor Dyne was horrible, but do you really think destroying the bench is going to help? Do you think that’s going to solve the issue?

Dahlia: It’s about removing his legacy. He shouldn’t be glorified.

Zack: Yeah, that makes sense. Hey, maybe we got off on the wrong foot here. Let’s talk.

Zack sits back down on the bench. Dahlia looks at the back of the bench then decides to cautiously sit down on the bench

Dahlia: What do you want to talk about?

Zack: Let’s just take a moment and look around. What do you see?

Dahlia: There’s some kids playing with a dog. A couple jogging. Someone taking photos of the pond.

Zack: I see people being happy. Don’t you see that?

Dahlia: I guess so.

Zack: That’s what I see every time I sit here. I see people enjoying their life. Isn’t that good? Isn’t that something worth saving and appreciating?

Dahlia: Sure but…

Zack: But taking that name off isn’t going to help these people. It’s going to hurt them. The more chaos you bring to this place, the more people are not going to feel happy here.

Dahlia: I’m not trying to bring chaos.

Zack: I don’t believe that was your intent either, but that’s what would happen if you were to destroy my bench.

Dahlia: If I don’t take off his name, it’s saying that what he did was okay. That’s the issue I have with this. I can’t pretend that this isn’t a problem.

Zack: Sure, but you’re making this about you. Not the bench.

Dahlia: How am I making this about me?

Zack: Well, you’re not really addressing the issues. If you have a problem with Mayor Dyne, change what he did. Don’t just attack public property, that’s just an outlet for you to feel good. That’s not real change.

Dahlia: But keeping that name on will just continue his legacy. It will justify his actions and deify him. He doesn’t deserve that.

Zack: I think the passion you have is good. I just feel it’s a little misguided, that’s all. I think it’s great that you want to challenge his legacy, but, and I mean this in all the kindness in the world, you’re doing it the wrong way.

Dahlia: What should I be doing then?

Zack: (points to his book) Reading.

Dahlia: I read…

Zack: Not just reading, but understand what other people are thinking. You’re not going to change anyone’s mind unless you understand the other side.

Dahlia: How will that help? Like seeing the flaws in their argument?

Zack: By understanding the bigger picture. No one side is correct.

Dahlia: But Mayor Dyne’s policies continue to cause people to suffer to this day. Families are going without food, people do not have access to school and medicine because–

Zack: There is no perfect human being. Sure, bad things happened. No one can predict the future, but maybe he did everything right in the moment. Maybe he thought that his policies and administration were helping people at that time. How was he supposed to know the future?

Dahlia: Well, I mean, he should have been aware of what he was advocating for.

Zack: And that’s enough for you to damage this bench?

Dahlia: It’s not about damaging the bench.

Zack: Well, I don’t feel you’re presenting a strong case here.

Dahlia: The case is that we are glorifying the past and what this monster did. It has to stop. I can change things. We can change things.

Zack: Now he’s a monster? You’re getting too hysterical about this.

Dahlia: I am not!

Zack: (pause) Kinda proving my point here. Look, I think you have passion. This is good. I admire that, I just think you’re not focusing on it in a constructive way, that’s all.

Dahlia: Why are you so keen on defending him?

Zack: I’m not defending him, I’m just saying you wanting to take your anger out on my favorite bench in the park is not a good idea. Read a book, go for a run, do something that actually helps you and others. Honestly, it’s kinda selfish to destroy something because you don’t like the name on it.

Dahlia: I keep telling you, I don’t want to destroy the bench! I don’t want Mayor Dyne deified! I don’t want kids growing up here seeing his name and thinking they can’t make the world better!

Zack: Do you have a job?

Dahlia: What does that have to do

Zack: So I’ll take that as a no.

Dahlia: I do have a job. I have two jobs actually. So again, I’ll ask what does that have to do with this situation.

Zack: I just find it odd that someone with two jobs has all of this free time to vandalize a bench. Dahlia: I am not vandalizing⸺This is civil disobedience!

Zack: Call it what you want. It doesn’t justify it. It’s bad.

Dahlia: You can’t stop me!

Zack: Yes, I can. I’ll call the police. I doubt that’s what you want.

Dahlia: Wait! Don’t call them

Zack: That civil disobedience doesn’t sound so civil now, huh?

Dahlia: Fine. I’ll leave the bench alone.

Zack: I think if you take some time and think about this, you’re gonna thank me for being right.

Dahlia sits on the bench thinking. Zack sits and begins to read

Dahlia: What are you reading?

Zack: It’s a history book of the city.

Dahlia: Oh? What do they say about Dyne?

Zack: It’s actually quite interesting. They show him as a very complex individual. Dahlia: Complex, how?

Zack: Well, as you know, some people liked him, and some didn’t.

Dahlia: That’s not complex. That’s wishy-washy at best. That could be said for anyone.

Zack: He seems to be shown as a complicated figure.

Dahlia: Everyone is complicated. Are you going to say they describe him as a human who existed?

Zack: (Flustered) You’re not getting it.

Dahlia: I get it. I’m not sure you do.

Zack: I get subtleties. I get nuance. This is a complex web of actions and reactions. History is not just A to B. It’s a series of actions and reactions. It’s neurons colliding into protons causing huge fissures of power. To simply say someone is bad because of a policy or speech, well it’s ignorant.

Dahlia: But you just said what I’m doing is bad. Why aren’t I a fissure of power? Zack: (sharply) Because!

Dahlia: Because? Because what? I’m not like you? I’m different? Go ahead, say it. Say why I’m bad. I’m curious.

Zack: Look⸺You’re, you’re extrapolating a lot here. You are making connections that you shouldn’t and putting that blame and guilt on me! I’m not the one trying to vandalize, or sow chaos in innocent people.

Dahlia: Who’s innocent? I thought people are complex? How do we go from complex individuals to absolute purity?

Zack: Don’t try and use my words against me!

Dahlia: For us to be talking about public property, there is a lot of ownership words you like to use. Your bench. Your words. What else do you own that I’m not aware of?

Zack: You need to stop. You’re starting to piss me off.

Dahlia: I’m just trying to understand. Isn’t that what you said I should do? Zack: (losing his temper)You’re not understanding, you’re just being difficult.

Dahlia: You asked me to stop. I stopped. You asked me to listen. I listened. Now when I’m trying to understand you, I’m difficult? What do you want?

Zack: I⸺

Dahlia: Say it.

Zack: I⸺

Dahlia: Any time now.

Zack: I want you to stop being an annoying little brat!

Zack realizes what he just said

Dahlia: Hm. Okay.

Zack: You pushed me to say this! That’s not my fault!

Dahlia: That bench really means that much to you?

Zack: You kept provoking me! I shouldn’t feel bad about this! I shouldn’t feel bad about what I think!

Dahlia: (to herself) Alright.

Dahlia goes back to her bag and gets the screwdriver. She heads back behind the bench to get the sign off

Zack: What are you doing! Stop! I’ll call the police!

Dahlia: Sit down!

Zack: What?

Dahlia: Please sit down.

Zack is confused and follows her orders. He is a little scared. Dahlia holds the name plaque

Dahlia: What do you see?

Zack: Huh?

Dahlia: Out there. What do you see?

Zack: I see someone walking their dog. I see a couple holding hands and walking. I see a kid throwing a rock in the pond. I don’t understand what you want.

Dahlia: Nothing has changed. I removed his name, and all the things that made you happy about sitting on this bench are still here. The bench isn’t destroyed. People are still enjoying the park. You can still read your book, right?

Zack: Yeah, but⸺

Dahlia: But now the name is gone. That’s all. I doubt anyone will notice. The plaque looks pretty worn down, don’t you think?

Zack: Sure, but⸺

Dahlia: I did what I needed to do. I hope you enjoy the rest of your night. There’s plenty to enjoy here. I hope you see that.

Dahlia packs her bag and throws the sign in. She starts to head stage right

Zack: But aren’t you mad at me?

Dahlia: It was never about you. It was about the sign. Take care.

Dahlia leaves. Zack sits back down. He is taking everything in. He grabs his book, but then puts it down. He looks out to see people in the park. He rubs the bench. He finds some peace in the new world he lives in. Lights Fade.

--

--