For your review.

Draft proposal based on conversation 4.4.2014

james burgett, Student of Gomi
Aftermath Technologies
3 min readApr 4, 2014

--

This is a letter reviewing a discussion between myself and representatives of Lassen Waste Management Authority.

To simplify and explain what is written below:

If I bring in scrap metal, I take out bicycles.

If I bring in dead fridges, I take out power tools.

If I bring in a washing machine, I take out weight sets.

They are paid for metal, they do not have the resources to differentiate, no one pays enough to make sorting viable. As long as they show a net gain in “metal” they come out ahead. If I put myself in a symbiotic position and bring in more income generating material, they have (as yet) no foreseeable problem with me doing a sort and salvage operation for hacker/maker toys.

first real documentation I’ve written professionally in five years. I think I aced it, but I welcome criticism.

If I combine it with this: http://www.e-volks.com/solar_electric_reverse_trike.html and a small trailer I could wander the local desert, collecting junk and trading it in for BETTER junk. This deal makes fabrication of something like that trike a whole lot more possible.

Anyway here is the doc resulting from todays meeting.

“First let me thank you all for your time and assure you that I do indeed want access to the material. I also regret to inform you that I am an idiot and I forgot to get Paul’s contact info, if possible please send me that.

Basic understanding: I want access material going through Bass Hill facility and potentially other sites for research into re-use for environmental, artistic and personal amusement purposes. I do not intend to disrupt any operations, nor do I intend to do anything other than cursory sorting on site, will work on an approved schedule and will not involve any other persons without prior approval and after addressing liability issues.

Talking points:

  1. Reimbursement for material removed on a pound per pound plus basis. with reimbursement material initially being removed from illegal dump sites in Wendel ca. Failing that, a financial basis will be arranged but this will lower amount of material going to research and not clean up Wendel. A question arises, there is material that is not metal/has negative value in the rogue dump sites. Could the cost of this material be covered by additional valuable material? (could I cover the cost of a some illegally dumped household material with an extra fridge?) Also when I remove an item there is a very good chance that I will only need a component or two, would there be an issue with metal returning as part of this exchange?
  2. Liability insurance, I will carry liability insurance as specified by the county and co-insure the county for the ramifications of my actions.
  3. I will receive documentation denoting this agreement to provide explanation should I be found by an unduly officious law enforcement officer or concerned neighbour. Said document in no way gives me any authority to act as a county agent, trespass,confiscate,etc. Merely to pick up abandoned waste material as discussed previously.

And Paul wants to see something physical (talk is cheap). I’ll endeavour to satisfy his request.”

--

--