Setbacks with Sparky

Fresh corpses cannot make up for bad theory.Happily more corpses can.

james burgett, Student of Gomi
Aftermath Technologies

--

Edit again: I produce pathetic blue sparks and can now add ultra violet exposure to the fun! I smell vaguely of burnt metal. When all else fails, add capacitance! Edit: path has not yet worked. For current theories scroll down to AAAAIGGHH!

Ok I’ve had what is probably a very bad idea burning in the back of my head for some time now. It involves the voltages involved in spot welding and in atomic hydrogen welding. Spot welding is very low voltage and very high amperage, while atomic hydrogen is high voltage, high amperage, (are you f***ing high?) high every thing so designing for high amperage is a good idea.

Normally A transformer would be of no use in DC current as it works as a function of changing current , but I’m doing a pulse so I think I can get away with one.

Garbage or organ donor?

Dead microwaves are regrettably, everywhere, and they have a transformer that takes voltage from 120vac to around 2000vac. This is from around “hurts like hell and kills heart patients”, to “reaches out and kills you flat”.

Multiple things that can zap you, one that can do so months after you unplug it! a thing that can literally cook your eyeballs and a fan, watch your fingers!

Innards! The organ for today is the metal block on the left.

This can kill you. Not cuddly. Takes 120 volts AC to approx 2000 volts AC.

After a careful surgical routine. We test sparky for output.

sparky runs at about 18-20 volts reduced sun increases charging time.

So 120 to 2000 is 16.6667 times . If I’m correct Sparkys 18 volt pulse should give me an output of 18*16.6667=300.8 volts when pumped through a basic microwave transformer without modification. As 300 is the recommended voltage for separating H2 into H1. F#$KING PERFECT. Little concerned about 300 volt testing regimens though.

AAAAIGHH! It doesn’t work! Very small flicker on meter. Will try more capacitors tomorrow. If anyone can tell me I’m being an idiot. feel free.

Got bored pulled out the transformer and added a second capacitor and just decided to see if I could get a spark with an old rod.

Sparky overcoming resistance!

As you can see, I did. I think a wholesale capacitor wiring is coming soon. Power now, optimal voltages later.

--

--