5 things I learnt from participating in a Unity Game Jam

Michael Ozoemena
Afwican Dev
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2017

Throughout the weekend from Friday evening to Sunday morning I was in a Unity Game Jam where my team built a mildly feature rich game. The game isn’t AAA level but it’s playable and I’m proud of it.

I joined the Game Jam at the last minute and the reason for that was because I felt like I had too much to do and I will waste my time trying to tinker with Unity without knowing where I was headed or what I hoped to achieve and once that changed, and I knew that I will gain a lot from participating and I had the time, I decided to be a part of it. I’ll share some of the things I learnt from the Game Jam.

  1. Leverage on the Unity Assets store if you are building for Unity. You may lack design skills or programming skills but that shouldn’t stop you from building your first Unity Game.
  2. Leverage the community. Speaking with people who are more experienced will help you stay motivated. If you have any issues with the game you are building, they can help you sort it out.
  3. Start small. Yes, build only one level and keep it really simple and stay away from overthinking game ideas. Just build anything playable.
  4. Start anywhere. The first parts of our game didn’t exist in the final version (it wasn’t improved upon, it was removed). So it doesn’t really matter where you start.
  5. Game development is very profitable even if you don’t want to build games. Look into building assets and putting them up for sale on the assets store.

You can view the source code of what my team came up with:

https://github.com/THEozmic/BlockCrush

--

--