3 Tips That Will Make You Have Meaningful Conversations
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

Becoming Superhuman

3 Tips That Will Make You Have Meaningful Conversations

…Coming from someone with autism

a Few Words
Published in
3 min readJan 13, 2020

--

I used to make this big mistake many years ago where I tried to build a connection with someone, but I asked all kinds of meaningless questions, or at least, made them meaningless. The conversations provided little value to the other and myself.

I do have autism, which had to do something with that issue, but I quickly started to learn the logic behind meaningful conversations.

So here are the main guidelines I follow to have more meaningful conversations.

#1: Emotions

Again, the questions I asked weren’t inherently meaningless, I made them feel meaningless because I focused too much on the logic. Let’s take some examples.

Meaningless conversation:

Me: So what’s your favorite color?

Her: Uhm… Blue.

Me: Why blue? (Me trying to discover the logic behind things. Reminder: I am autistic)

Her: I don’t know, it’s just pleasing to look at…

Let’s put some more emotions into that.

Meaningful conversation:

--

--

a Few Words

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)