5 Common Misconceptions About Writers

We’re a lot cooler than you think!

Leanne Johnson
a Few Words

--

There are a lot of things people think about writers. Very few of them are true, at least in my experiences. I’ve compiled a list of the top five misconceptions people have of writers that I’ve come across.

Writers all want to be teachers

Nope! I’m sure many writers want to become teachers and I enjoy teaching the occasional workshop, but I definitely do not want to be a teacher.

I do, however, believe that educating and mentoring others, particularly new writers, is a responsibility we have as writers. I also believe that this is something that can be accomplished outside a classroom environment.

Writers have no social life

Also not true. Since becoming more involved in the writing community in Saskatoon, I have a much busier social life than I had before!

Community is an essential part of any writers’ toolbox and shouldn’t matter if it’s in person or online. Contrary to popular belief, writers do more than sit in a dingy office making things up all day.

--

--

Leanne Johnson
a Few Words

Usually found with a pen and paper or rolling dice with friends. Messy, creative, and a little chaotic.