8 Powerful Lessons I Have Learned From Living As A Minimalist

Rosie Nguyen
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2021

Minimalism is a lifestyle that helps people to figure out what things add value to their lives. By clearing the clutter from our life, we can all make room for the most important aspects of life.

After three years of practicing a minimalist lifestyle, I have gained many powerful benefits.

1. More freedom

The sense of freedom comes to mind. You will no longer feel tied to material possessions. We are always terrified of losing all our “stuff,” so let go of all the unnecessary stuff to help you experience freedom from greed, debt, and obsession.

2. Take more time for me

Instead of spending a lot of time going shopping, I take more time listening to the voice inside me. I can focus on the real values that I pursue instead of caring more about the outside.

3. Finding my true self and the values that I want to have.

If I don’t own anything, what defines me? With the minimalist lifestyle, I have the chance to choose to put the priority on the values that I pursue. And lucky for me, these values always decide what I will do and say every day.

4. Acknowledge the essential things in my life

What is the most important in my life? I have asked myself thousands of times, which led me to consider the vital things in my life, such as my health, family, friends, and life-long learning. From that, I know what I should spend time on, the most significant things in my life.

5. There are always enough things to be happy

I always know that I have enough to live a happy and healthy life in all my life stages until now. I have a roof to avoid rain and sun, and I have a bed to live in, food to nurture my body. Living as a minimalist makes me feel that I always have enough to be happy.

6. Know the difference between need and like

We usually buy some things when we like them, but we don’t need them — living minimalistic teaches me how to ask myself whether the things I will buy bring many values to me or I just like it. This mindset helps me a lot and change my intention when I’m shopping.

7. The importance of quality compared to the quantity.

Instead of buying dozens of shoes, I only have one quality pair of shoes that I can wear to work, hang out with friends or go to school. I like that shoes.

8. Living intentionally and appreciating every single moment of my life.

Living as a minimalist brings me the joy of using everything in my life with love and appreciation. Everyday, living for me is a privilege that I will not waste a second to live a fulfilled and happy life.

--

--

Rosie Nguyen
a Few Words

Yoga and meditation lover, a positive person, a student of life.