A New Normal

Written awhile ago when things were bleaker

Lisa Spray
a Few Words
1 min readApr 29, 2022

--

Photo by Anton on Unsplash

Praise the One who heals
Us and the earth around us
Past days remembered:

The sweet smell of pine
And juniper chips fills my nose
As I dump a load

Of the resinous bits
Spit out by our old red chipper
God’s sun shines warm

On my stiff old back
Loosening joints and soothing
My nighttime worries

For dear friends still trapped
In covid infested cities
Far across the globe

I know God keeps them
Safe and healthy — something
No worries can do

Virtual chats help
Praise God for technology
Or where would we be?

Entrapped in our homes
With nothing to do but pray
For an end to it

An end to the death
And worries, fear and concern
For life to return

To its normal dance
Where we don’t wear masks and gloves
And hide in our homes

And worries return
To the old mundane ones
Of the better times

A bright blue bird
Flies into the tree ahead
And brings me back to

My rural retreat
Of blessed beauty and peace
far from noisy life

I know I am blessed
And I pray you all are too
Life will still go on

--

--

Lisa Spray
a Few Words

I 💕nature, photography, writing & travel. I find deep sharing heals. All with sincere faith are my spiritual family. Editor: The ❤️of Quran. Join us there 🤝.