POETRY

A poet within?

908 days in a clouded mind

Adya Mantoo
a Few Words

--

Photo by Laura Vinck on Unsplash

For 908 days, poetry took control,

In its grip, my world began to unfold.

535 of those days, I believed I was near,

A poet, emerging with words so clear.

But oh, what a rescue, I must confess,

Am I truly a poet?

Searching for a poet within

My heart is troubled, burdened with verse,

the days loom, with hopes falling low,

In the battle for the poet a subtle blow.

Almost a poet

Yet the descender within me, with spirit unbowed,

Ventures forth

For poetry, my anchor through it all,

I’ll let it guide me, as I stand tall.

Though doubts may linger, uncertainties form,

I’ll embrace the words

As fate awaits, with destiny untold,

The rhymes of my soul, eternally unfold.

For 535 days, poetry was my guide,

And now, as a poet, I’ll bravely reside.

Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

P.S.

The number 908 signifies my birthday- 9th of August

And 535 are a mix of my parent’s birthday❤️ — 22/09 and 30/06

--

--

Adya Mantoo
a Few Words

Published Author of two anthologies • Poet • Writer • I write to express • Growing with the flow