A Thought That Helped Me Rise Up

Kristina P
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2020

A year ago, I was in a terrible place in my life. Brought down by depression and anxiety, I lost the passion I had for my career. I lost the passion I had for life. I wasted my time bingeing on shows and vapid social media scrolls.

I tried to pick myself up and failed miserably every time.

Nothing could help.

But then one day, while I was wasting my time away on social media, an interesting thought came my way.

I don’t remember who said it or the exact words, but the gist of it is engraved in my memory.

“Once you die, you will meet yourself — the best version of you, who you could have been if only you tried. It’s up to you to decide whether you’ll stand before that person as inferior or as an equal.”

And this is precisely when it dawned on me that I’m not who I want to be. Not the best version of me, at least. So I picked myself up again and again and again.

I still fail. Bad things still bring me down.

But I don’t stay there for long.

That simple thought always helps me remember where I’m going. And sometimes, that’s all you need.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Kristina P
a Few Words

Writer and editor. Loves books, tea, coffee and cats. What a cliche, right? Connect with me on Instagram @k.bookishdelights