Anki: How I Try to Use Forgetting in My Advantage

Superintelligence

Anki: How I Try to Use Forgetting in My Advantage + Anki Addon

And why I think forgetting isn’t a bad thing

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Published in
3 min readJan 20, 2020

--

A quote from the Anki page seems to be:

Remember Efficiently: Only practice the material that you’re about to forget.

I, however, don’t think being unable to recall something is a bad thing per se.

Why not? Well, there are essentially two components of memory: Storage strength and retrieval strength.

When you are unable to recall something, it probably means your retrieval strength wasn’t “strong” enough. The storage strength, however, could have remained almost stable since the period you first learned something.

This means that when you relearn something, you aren’t exactly “starting over at zero” (i.e. the storage strength is still present). This is also why many Anki users recommend setting “New interval” to anything other than “zero” (I put mine at 70%):

Taking Advantage of Forgetting

--

--

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
a Few Words

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)