Commenting on posts and sending private messages is not a right

It’s a privilege

Amy Mehta
a Few Words

--

Do you agree?

I recently blocked a young woman on social media. After I posted an (admittedly) controversial post, she saw it as a member of my friend list and took great offense to the sentiments posted.

The post I referenced was from Twitter, and they were not my words. The vitriol spurring this chick on was insane. Her many private messages to me referenced things that were not on the post (apparently, she finds that people refusing to be vaccinated losing their jobs the work of Satan and evidence that Christianity is under attack). According to her, she had a right to be heard, and I was trying to censor her.

A simple search in her Facebbok feed would have shown her that her comments were still visible. Unless a comment is offensive, I don’t typically remove it. Her comment about vaccines was a bit weird, but not offensive.

I BLOCKED HER after asking why she was writing these things to a stranger and not getting anything of substance back.

Later in the day, I saw another private accusatory message in a different medium. She felt that I had gaslit her (I guess she found the act of my asking questions back or blocking her offensive? not sure where the perception of gaslighting…

--

--

Amy Mehta
a Few Words

Accounting Systems manager. I love a cozy couch and some good reading.