Counselor

Coming to Terms With Endings

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
a Few Words

--

Photo by Holly Mandarich on Unsplash

Early in recovery, I tried therapy. I lasted two sessions, but quickly found I was nowhere near being ready for that. Instead, I got very involved in the program, and eventually got a sponsor to take me through the 12 Steps of recovery.

Life got better. I learned to live by spiritual principles, and to stop being my own worst enemy. Through the years, life happened. I raised a family, did well in my career, and for the most part, life was good. I still had a lot of negative thoughts and feelings, at times, but I learned to live with them, and to not give them power by dwelling on them.

Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

Things got a little ragged in my marriage at times. We sought counseling to help guide us through the rocky terrain. The first time, about seven years into our marriage, it was exactly what we needed, and helped us tremendously, for many years. More recently, about three years ago, counseling was not nearly as effective.

I wasn’t being completely honest, at that point. I was living on a slippery slope, when it came to honesty in our relationship. Kathy was ready to get off that slope, but I wasn’t. We were going through a lot of financial flow issues at…

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
a Few Words

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.