Does Positive Thinking Actually Work?

It can if you do it right

Shefali O'Hara
a Few Words

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

People have been telling me I’m a positive person a lot lately. I was diagnosed with metastatic brain, lung, and liver cancer last April. The doctors gave me 6 months to live, but I’m still here and enjoying my life as much as I can. There are things I can no longer do, but I do what I can. My oncologist told me on my last visit that we are charting new waters — she is baffled that I’m still functional.

I think the reason I’m still doing as well as I am has a lot to do with my attitude. I think I do have a positive attitude, and this is helping me.

But what does it mean to have a positive attitude?

Does this mean you believe you’ll win the lottery? Or think that cute person to fall in love with you through the mystical power of your brain waves?

Let’s get real. A positive attitude is not a substitute for doing the work.

Think of the work as the healthy components in a meal. Think of the positive attitude as the seasoning. It’s what makes the food taste good and often adds nutritional components that make it healthier.

Earlier today I had a conversation with a friend who does NOT have a positive attitude. He sorta reminds me of Eeyore, actually. He is often depressed. But he is one of…

--

--

Shefali O'Hara
a Few Words

Cancer survivor, Christian, writer, engineer. BSEE from MIT, MSEE, and MA in history. Love nature, animals, books, art, and interesting discussions.