Finding Out What Matters

6 Questions To Ask Yourself

Shental Rohan
a Few Words
2 min readMay 30, 2020

--

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

As you’re typing up something on your laptop or straightening a picture frame to get it at the perfect angle, do you ever stop and think about why you’re doing it?

I often find myself in these situations, wondering the point of what I am doing and how it will change my life or those of others. So I’ve come up with a few simple questions to ask myself before starting something, that I thought would be beneficial to share here. These questions can help you distinguish the things that matter from the things that don’t so that you can drop those meaningless tasks for a more productive and effective day. Not only will you find yourself with some extra, much needed, time on your hands but you will also find yourself feeling more light-hearted, without the worry and stress of unnecessary things, which will change the way you approach your day.

“If you don’t have time for what matters, stop doing things that don’t” — Courtney Carver

6 questions to ask yourself before doing something:

#1 How will this action add value to my life?

#2 Will this action benefit me in the future?

#3 Will this action benefit others?

#4 Will this action harm me?

#5 Will this action harm or hurt anyone else?

#6 Does this action make me happy?

It is incredibly important to make sure we make time to do the things that matter and to do so means getting out of the habit of doing the things that don’t. Remember that the smallest and most tedious of things are usually the ones that will contribute the most to success.

I sincerely hope that implementing this in your life will cause a positive change to your lifestyle and everyday actions!

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--