Flowers Tell Me…

Joy in colorful petals

Sophia Tran
a Few Words
3 min readDec 20, 2020

--

Photo by the author

I recalled I had had a plan, but I hadn’t fulfilled it last year. So, I decided to make it come true this year — I joined a flower arranging class.

While terrible deadlines and requirements almost drove me crazy, flowers brightened up my mind. I realized the beauty around me everyday, always. It’s just our hastiness that blocks us from well-being.

As I’m still counting words and hours to earn a living, a moment to stop dealing with paperwork is like refreshing air. That’s all I need to count my blessings.

Here are some valuable things I discovered after the course.

Every flower has its most beautiful ‘face’

You should realize the most beautiful face of the flower and show it off. It’s like we all have our strengths and weaknesses. When we know how to rotate our weaknesses, it will become our strengths.

Flowers don’t look beautiful alone

A basket of flowers lacks vitality unless there are some leaves. But the point is just enough leaves. You can’t add to many leaves as they will cover the flowers.

Don’t let your life filled with monotonous things, try something new whenever you have time. At the same time, don’t forget what is the main thing that should be focused on.

Treat sensitive people like flowers

You have to be very gentle with them because they are easily hurt. Some are even more sensitive than the others, and they need special care. If you don’t use a different approach to them, you can’t discover their true beauty.

Flowers smile when you smile

When I finished a bouquet, I looked at it from different angles and felt like they were smiling. I made a happy bouquet. The world around reflects what you think. If you think positively then everything becomes lovely.

Value won’t fade

My instructor told us about the journey of a ‘from-farm-to-hand’ bouquet. Starting when the flowers are cut by the farmers, they will be cut and packed more carefully if the farmers are happy that they will sell these flowers at high prices.

Then during the delivery from farms to shops, the packages of flowers will be loaded and unloaded more gently if the workers are happy that they will receive more money with these flowers.

Next is the most important step when the florists arrange the flowers and make them so-called valuable. A flower basket will be arranged more uniquely if the florists are informed that it will be a high-priced gift.

And here comes the last step — delivery. In my area, we certainly use motorbikes to deliver small items like flowers. Shippers will ride more slowly and even arrange flowers a bit if this is a must-do step for well-trained staff at their company. And of course, the training cost for the shippers to have basic flower arranging skills will be added a bit to the flowers price.

That’s a business story. The message sent is that for the glowing flowers, we are expected to pay more. But will the more expensive flowers more valuable than the cheaper ones?

For those who send flowers as a high-priced tangible gift with no emotions, the value they send is almost zero. The value fades as the flowers fade.

For those who send flowers as a high-priced tangible gift with love and kindness, the value they send is priceless. Although the flowers fade, the value lasts.

Photo by the author

Wish you all receive bouquets of love!

--

--