For Once, We Existed

And we were beautiful.

Maisha Rachmat
a Few Words
2 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Photo by John Hernandez on Unsplash

when we broke up
it felt like I was holding on to a balloon
that wanted to fly away

there were times I would lose my grip
and I wouldn’t care
but something would jolt me back
and I’d reach back for the string
and hold it tighter than ever before

I think I’m ready to release you now.

ready to let go of the past
of the happiness, the beauty, the hurt
maybe even feel okay
seeing you with someone else
if it means you’d bloom and grow
into who you truly are

I don’t know if I’ll be as happy as I was with you
but at least I’m happy on my own now
I don’t know if I’ll ever find someone
who knows my nooks and crannies like you do
but I know that vulnerability
is a possession I can’t give away so easily

I’m ready to let go of the hope
that one day we’d be together again
life is too unpredictable to map out
will our paths ever lead us to that same spot?

if it doesn’t
please know that I still love you —
even if that love looks different now

when I do something that makes me proud
I’ll always think of you
and how proud you’d be of me too

when I scroll past a picture of you
I’ll remember the day we traced each other’s faces
hoping to carve them into our memories

and when I listen to our song
I’ll no longer cry because us ended
I’ll smile because for once,
we existed

--

--

Maisha Rachmat
a Few Words

Full-time content writer, part-time poetry enthusiast.