Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Future me delusions

Gabriela Vela
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Am I really happy or am I waiting for future me to solve the all the problems.

imagining a version of me that might never exist…

perhaps is easier to trust and blame my future self.

In my mind that version of me would take care of my happiness

and present me wouldn’t have to confront this delusion of reality that I created full of all this steps and conditions.

I give myself permission to avoid my reality for a moment.

Superficial thoughts will come later, society would not let me exhale for a lot longer.

For now, present me can rest.

Future me would suddenly create a reality in which happiness is the default, the now, the everyday sun kiss that touches my face, instead of the tomorrow.

Present me and future me.

Does it matter which one will win?

it Feels like being stuck and on a free fall.

It's a loop as well as a riddle in my mind in which I can't find a way out.

or I don't want to. This body is comfort and a twisted definition of peace that I trapped myself into. Do I really want to let me go?

am I ready for future me to come and save the day?

--

--