Haircut

A mundane yet magical encounter

Gill Altuna
a Few Words
1 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Photo by Luka Davitadze on Unsplash

I hear a razor harshly buzzing from a distance.

My make-shift home office for a month does not help me concentrate.

My noise-cancelling buds fail.

The device churns out noises from a Zoom call, but I set it aside and follow my distraction.

Tiny hairs are scattered across the floor.

My mom motions the razor through the sides and deep ends of my stepdad’s hair.

His eyebrows meet but he is patient.

She does the job like nothing else matters in the world.

I stare at the view, for the first time, attentive and completely absorbed.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--