How Are You, Dear?

Meeting a long-lost friend…

Prudence
a Few Words
1 min readMay 13, 2021

--

It was different the last time.

You were different, your voice was different,

Your smile was different.

After so long, today when I was talking to you,

You sounded so desperate to say something,

But, you could not.

You were restless, you were tired, you were hurting, you were talking,

Still, you could not!

I remember you used to tell me about all those things that had made you miserable,

That had sucked the life out of you,

That had kept you from being you.

But now, you could not.

I don’t know why it happened, how it happened,

How you forgot that you wanted to live once!

I was looking for those indomitable wishes that you once had,

To break free.

But, I could not see them in your eyes!

Maybe I am wrong, maybe you are okay.

But tell me that you are because your eyes don’t lie.

How are you?

How have you been?

It’s been so long, and so much has happened.

But, know that I am here and I still want to know,

How are you, dear?

Tell me, how have you been?

— Prudence

--

--

Prudence
a Few Words

I don’t know where I’m going. So, any road should take me there!