How Conventional Advice Sabotages Aspiring Entrepreneurs

Stick With What Works For You

Zakk Maple
a Few Words
3 min readDec 4, 2021

--

Photo by Moose Photos from Pexels

The other day I was reading an interview about an entrepreneur who was working on his 7th SAAS (software as a service) company.

A question came up that asked him about what apps or technology he uses to keep himself organized and productive.

His response?

“Nothing, I use pen and notepads.”

He went on to say that this has always been his method and he sticks with what he’s used to.

You’ve probably heard famous phrases such as:

“You have to wake up at 4am everyday in order to be successful!”

“If you’re not grinding for 16 hours per day, you’ll never make it!”

“If you want to be an entrepreneur you have to sacrifice rarely seeing your family and friends!”

These types of absolutist statements actually cause discouragement rather than encouragement. But maybe that is the intended purpose?

When I was in college, I always studied and did my work at night (usually like 12am- 2am).

Why?

Because this is what worked best for me. First of all, I have always been a night person. Second, because I worked all day and went to school, nighttime was the only availability I had. I also felt less distracted since everything was quiet, stores are closed, and people are asleep.

Just like our man in the example above, I too use pen and notepads for writing down everything.

It was only when I started believing that I needed technology or had to copy some insane lifestyle that I actually was getting less done.

I was so focused on “doing it right” that I stopped myself from actually getting anything done at all.

I’m not going to deny that waking up early and using some technology isn’t helpful for some people. But it also isn’t necessary or for everyone.

It’s just like how everyone has a different learning style. I tend to be a more of a visual learner. You may be an audio or a kinesthetic learner. Don’t try to force yourself to be something that is not intuitive or natural to you.

Stick with what works best.

When you’re given rules or advice that deviate so far from who you are you’re going to conclude that you’re not good enough.

The one thing that you rarely hear from the conventional advice out there is how being consistent is actually the most important quality you need. Without consistent effort it doesn’t matter what you do or how you do it.

Your best results will come from the habits, work routines, and learning styles that are inherent to you. If an individual wakes at 4am and works 16-hour days and is happy and successful, then congratulations to them.

But if you are happy and successful doing it different then stick with that. What you don’t want to do is get the idea that you must have this hardcore regimen that all the successful entrepreneurs use.

--

--

Zakk Maple
a Few Words

Life Critic and Deep Thinker Solving Life’s Problems