Personal Development

How Giving Less Concrete Answers Invokes Curiosity

And why you should stop trying to fully answer a question

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

Let’s review the following conversation between 2 people who are romantically attracted toward each other:

Man: I am interested in what your hobbies are. Tell me something about them.

Woman: Uhm… I like to read a lot, especially non-fiction. I guess I like to go to the gym too and I like philosophy. How about you?

Man: That’s very interesting. Yeah, I like to read a lot of books on psychology and personal development. I am very fond of going to the gym too, I go at least 3 times a week, mostly strength training.

And so on…

Let’s imagine you are the man. You are giving very elaborate answers, being very concrete and detailed, and so on. It could very well be that the woman is interested in whatever you tell her, but this conversation can dramatically be improved and make her more engaged as well by giving less concrete answers. Let’s review how such a conversation with develop:

Man: That’s very interesting. Yeah, I like to read too and go to the gym. What books do you read? (Notice how he’s giving less concrete answers and

--

--

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
a Few Words

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)