How to Become a Likeable Person in Your Office

Mohammed Rashid
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2019

--

Photo by Marius Ciocirlan on Unsplash

I was in my second appraisal meeting after completing two years in my company. I was very tensed because I feared some looming issues around my projects could become ammunition for managers.

Even before the detailed discussion, the interviewing manager took a pen out of his pocket and marked two dots on a blank paper, one dot in the bottom portion and the other dot in the middle of the paper. Then he connected two dots.

Pointing the first dot he said ‘This is you in the first year’. After a brief silence, he pointed the second dot and said ‘And this is you now. You have improved a lot’.

I was dumbstruck. I didn’t expect such a positive response from the management.

After the meeting, I just sat down on my chair and thought for a while. The output from me as an employee is almost the same for two years. Then what made them think I am improved?

It was neither my productivity nor my intellectual skills. It was my likeability as a person in the office.

The following are some of the ways to become a likeable person, sharing straight from my experience.

Follow Other Likeable Persons

It’s quite easy to identify standout persons in your office. Start observing them- how they are interacting with others and how they react to various situations. You can learn many things by just watching them in action.

Talk to Everyone

In my first year as an employee, I talked to a few people. Later I realized I should get to know everyone in the office. I learned to talk by asking simple questions. This doesn’t mean you have to talk to everyone daily but be familiar with others.

Take Initiative

An office is not only a place for work but also a place for fun things. There may have various entertaining activities to participate. When you get a fair chance, take initiative. Taking initiative also boosts your confidence.

Stay Away from Gossips

It’s very easy to get involved in gossiping circles of your office. Shut your ears from such negative talks. Show your disinterest in gossips openly. Remember, gossips can give you a negative outlook.

Be Positive

Everything happens inside an office is not in your control. There are both good and bad. Always make your emotions in control and be positive. When emotions such as anger are not controlled then it can tarnish your reputation.

Learn to Listen

We always tend to talk about ourselves. We should listen to the experience of other persons. Listening is a skill. It is also a way to show your genuine interest in others. Learn to listen and you will see connections in your office grow.

Once you become one of the most likeable persons in your office, work-life would be far more enjoyable.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--