How to Regain Your Focus After Distraction

Abayomi Omoogun
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readMar 27, 2019
Photo by Alex Kotliarskyi on Unsplash

Disruption of routines is a problem if we can’t manage our time properly. I find myself completely deviating from my to-do list plan for the day and I can’t help but wonder how much time I have lost.

I take my to-do list plan for the day seriously and all of a sudden something else caught my attention and took away all my time completely. I was really angry and mad at myself for not regaining control of my time till it was gone and because of that, I couldn’t even do a simple work from my to-do list as a result of activity disruption.

It is not easy to tell why I failed, I only lacked DISCIPLINE.

Discipline is like your will power to go on and do the things you set out to do irrespective of the outside forces out of your control.

Discipline is really needed in pursuit of whatever thing we want to do be it a small task or a large task and that was what I failed to put on which cost me dearly.

ways you can regain your Focus.

Reanalyze or re-strategize

If you find out you are deviating from your plan for the day because of outside forces out of your control, then re-strategizing is a good option or tool that can be used. But in most cases, if it is forces within your grasp or distractions, that is where the discipline and will come for you to leave and get back to your task. Discipline and will is something simple we claim we all have but it is the most difficult when we need to put in to use.

Photo by Sid Leigh on Unsplash

Take a break

Another way to regain focus after deviating from your plan is to take a break. Taking a break like a five to ten-minute walk, meditating, or reading are also ways to regain focus. I walk for five minutes anytime am distracted and can’t seem to get my mojo back while on work. After walking, my brain calms down and I get to regain my focus again.

Clear your desk and mind

When your desk is cluttered, your mind can be cluttered too. If you are feeling unfocused, take a look at your workspace if there is anything piled up. When we see a lot of papers and things pile up we immediately go into anxiety. If it is out of sight it is out of mind.

Drink a Glass of water

It may sound simple, but if you are having difficulty staying on a task, pause and drink a glass of water. Not only will getting up to pour yourself a glass force you to change your thought, and process, It will also keep you hydrated which makes you more alert.

There are other ways to regain focus these are just four simple steps I follow to regain my focus whenever am distracted.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s brand new publication which only accepts stories that have less than 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit our page.

--

--