How my kids raised me as a parent

I love unconditionally

Since the day my daughter taught me what love truly means

Syukri Shamsuddin
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2019

--

Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

One day, my wife asked me.

Do you love me?

Yes, of course I love you. You’re my wife.

Is that why you love me? Just because I’m your wife.

I tend to get “interrogated” like this from time to time. My wife calls this — testing your thinking skills. It’s really her way of forcing me to be romantic.

But this time round, I was kinda puzzled with her interrogation. Her facial expression seemed like she was really serious. Felt as if I did something wrong.

Well you know how much I love you. Its because you’re beautiful, you’re kind, you cook great food and you have a great sense of humour.

She gazed at me. And squinted her eyes as if to say that it’s not quite the answer she was looking for.

Your daughter understands the concept of ‘love’ better than you do. She can be a lot sweeter than you too.

Oh really? Why do say that?

Yesterday I asked her the same question. You know what she said to me?

--

--

Syukri Shamsuddin
a Few Words

I write for small business owners - dental clinics especially, and other relevant topics in between. Relationships too sometimes XD